Dansk | English

Young Scientists

In 2001, Lundbeckfonden established a research prize for young researchers under the age of 40.

The prize is a recognition of a particularly promising scientist under the age of 40 who has conducted outstanding research in biomedicine sciences.

Candidates are proposed by senior researchers at Danish research institutions following calls for nomination. The Foundation’s Research Council selects the recipient in conjunction with external evaluators. The prize, which is a personal award of DKK 300,000, is awarded once a year. The recipient must be conducting research at a Danish research institution at the time of the award.

The prize cannot be applied for. Nominations are accepted from leading scientists at Danish universities or other research institutions.  Previous nominees may be re-nominated as long as they still meet the criteria.


Nominations can only be submitted via the Foundation's electronic application system. Next deadline.


Previous recipients of Lundbeckfonden Research Prize for Young Scientists:


2016 Assoc. Professor, Ph.D. Alexander N. Zelikin

2015 Professor, Ph.D. Robert A. Fenton
2014 Professor, Ph.D. Tom Gilbert

2013 Assoc. Professor, Ph.D. Darach Watson 

2012 Professor Mads Hald Andersen

2011 Professor, Ph.D. Eske Willerslev 

2010 Professor, Ph.D. Lars Juhl Jensen
2009 Professor, Ph.D. Niels Mailand
2008 Assoc. Professor, Ph.D. Blagoy A. Blagoev
2007 Assoc. Professor, Ph.D. Bjørk Hammer
2006 Professor, D.Pharm., Ph.D. Hans Bräuner-Osborne
2005 Professor, M.Sc. Claus Hviid Christensen
2004 Professor, Ph.D. Jens Hjorth
2003 Professor, M.D. Jacob Rosenberg
2002 Professor, Ph.D. Jesper Wengel
2001 Professor, M.D. Søren Nielsen